Meet the Trustees
Board of Trustees
Dr. Deborah Jensen
Dr. Deborah Jensen, Position 1

Co-Director of Programming and Implementation, Southeast Regional T-STEM Center

Dr. Deborah Jensen was elected to the Board of Trustees in November 2010 and re-elected in November 2013. She brings many years of experience in education to the Board, and is the proud grandparent of three Spring ISD students. Dr. Jensen has a bachelor’s degree in psychology from the University of California at Los Angeles, a master’s degree in biology from the University of Hartford, teaching certification from Sam Houston State University and a doctorate degree in educational curriculum and instruction from Texas A&M University.


Chris A. Bell
Chris A. Bell, Position 2

Elected to the Board of Trustees in November 2013, Mr. Chris Bell has lived in Spring for over 19 years. He and his wife have two children who graduated from the district. He has served on over 15 school and district committees including the Spring Education Foundation Board of Directors. In 2013 Mr. Bell was recognized by a local chamber of commerce for his many volunteer efforts within the district.

Twitter @ChrisBellSISD

Justine Durant
Justine Durant, Vice President, Position 3

Regional Director, Cigna Healthcare of Texas, Inc.

Appointed to the Board of Trustees in November 2006 to fill a vacancy in Position 3, Ms. Durant was elected to the position in November 2007 and re-elected in November 2010 and November 2013. She has served two terms as President of the Board. Ms. Durant brings to the position many years of experience as a volunteer in Spring ISD. She has been an active member of parent-teacher organizations throughout the District and has served on numerous Spring ISD committees.

Twitter @justine_durant

Rhonda L. Faust
Rhonda L. Faust, J.D., President, Position 4

Manager of Law & Contracts, Honeywell International Inc.

Elected to the Board of Trustees in November 2011 and re-elected in November 2014, Ms. Faust is a proud alumna of Spring ISD, having attended kindergarten through 12th grade in the district. She holds a Doctorate of Jurisprudence from South Texas College of Law and completed her baccalaureate studies in the business competencies.

Twitter @rfaustspringisd

Rhonda Newhouse
Rhonda Newhouse, Position 5

Field Supervisor of Principals and Counselor Certification Internship at Prairie View A&M University

Appointed to the Board of Trustees in July 2014 to fill a vacancy in Position 5, Ms. Newhouse was elected to the position in November 2014. She has over 40 years of experience in education, which includes serving as a teacher, counselor and campus administrator. She is a long-time supporter of Spring ISD and has served on the Spring ISD Education Foundation Board of Directors and the Spring ISD Business and Community advisory committee.

Twitter @rhonda_newhouse

Ron Crier
Ron Crier, Secretary, Position 6

Consultant, HouData

Elected to the Board of Trustees in May 2003 and re-elected in May 2006, November 2009 and November 2012. His past experience includes serving as secretary and assistant secretary to the Board, as a delegate to the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) delegate assembly and on the Legislative Advisory Council for the Gulf Coast Area Association of School Boards. Mr. Crier was recently elected to a three-year term on the TASB Board of Directors, representing Region 4A.

Twitter @roncrier

Jana Gonzales
Jana Gonzales, Assistant Secretary, Position 7

Vice President, InvesTex Credit Union

Elected to the Board of Trustees in May 2006 and re-elected in November 2009 and November 2012, Ms. Gonzales currently represents the Board on the Spring ISD Education Foundation Board. Ms. Gonzales has served in numerous volunteer capacities for Spring ISD, including the Education Foundation Board of Directors.

Twitter @janders55335506
See full biography

Spring Independent School District | 16717 Ella Blvd. | Houston, Texas 77090 | Phone: 281-891-6000 | Fax: 281-891-6006 | Contact Us
powered by netStartEnterpriseTM