Spring ISD News Release Current News Releases | Spring ISD Home
Holloway and Jones Named 2011 Spring ISD Teachers of the Year
Spring ISD Teachers of the Year, from left, Fletcher Holloway, Clark Intermediate School; and Lorie Jones, Carl Wunsche Sr. High School, are the elementary and secondary teachers of the year, respectively.
Holloway and Jones Named 2011 Spring ISD Teachers of the Year

June 3, 2011

Spring ISD recently announced the district’s teachers of the year at an employee recognition banquet in May. In front of an audience of their peers and with much anticipation on the part of the 36 campus teachers of the year who waited expectantly in the banquet hall, Fletcher Holloway was named 2011 Spring ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and Lorie Jones was named 2011 Spring ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Fletcher Holloway is a fifth-grade math and social studies teacher and a team leader at Clark Intermediate School where he began teaching in 2001.

“I answered my call to the teaching profession in 2001 and have loved the journey and path I have taken. I was encouraged repeatedly to consider teaching math as a profession. It seemed so natural because it is something I love to do,” Holloway said.

Holloway earned his Bachelor of Science in Institution Management from Alcorn State University in 1990. In 2004 he earned his Master of Education degree in administration from Prairie View A&M University where he went on to earn his Master of Arts degree in counseling and is currently working on his doctorate degree in educational leadership.

“Fletcher is a dedicated teacher who puts children first and goes the extra mile daily by providing support to teachers and students. He inspires students to achieve their goals and awakens their expectations,” said Kimberly Stanley Martin, Clark Intermediate principal.

Lorie Jones has been teaching tenth through twelfth grade health science technology at Carl Wunsche Sr. High School since 2007. Her subjects include health science, health science technology, dentistry, nutrition and wellness, medical law and ethics. In addition, she serves as the coordinator and Career and Technical Education department chair for the Wunsche medical tower, Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) advisor and HOSA Area VI Spring Leadership Conference coordinator.

“Ms. Jones demonstrates the highest level of professional commitment and competency in her relationship with students, colleagues and the community. In carrying out her professional responsibilities, Lorie gives generously of her time to have her students be an integral part of the community,” said Debi Koch, Wunsche principal.

Jones uses her previous experience as a licensed and registered dental hygienist to provide her students with a real-world educational experience that benefits the community. Her students assist in providing preventive dental care services, as well as dental care referrals.

“When I discovered that there was an opportunity to teach my passion of dentistry at the high-school level, I jumped at the chance. I quickly discovered that there were untapped opportunities to combine my love for dentistry into the education world, and I began looking for ways to expand my classroom beyond the four building wall,” Jones said.

Jones has a Bachelor of Science degree in dental hygiene from the University of Texas – Houston Dental Hygiene School and a teaching certificate in health science technology from the iTeach Texas Alternative Certification Program.

Jones has plenty to say about the hard work and dedication required of teachers. “When I stepped into the realm of education, my head began to spin. I found that teaching was not just an eight-hour–a-day job; it was round the clock. My world became focused on student success, lesson design, classroom management, grading assessments and club involvement,” Jones said.

Jones and Holloway were selected as district teachers of the year from highly qualified teachers representing every campus in the district. Those teachers are Derrick Gossett, Anderson Elementary; Susanne Smith, Bammel Elementary; Sharon Wilkendorf, Beneke Elementary; Kenisha Williams, Booker Elementary; Michelle Ford, Burchett Elementary; Fletcher Holloway, Clark Intermediate; Nan Kiesewetter, Clark Primary; Jason Ross, Cooper Elementary; Shannon Sullivan, Eickenroht Elementary; Bridget Samuel-Pegues, Heritage Elementary; Shirley Dulworth, Hirsch Elementary; April Savoy, Hoyland Elementary; Courtney Land, Jenkins Elementary; Alex Javoian, Lewis Elementary; Cynthia Valdez, Link Elementary; LeKesha Malveaux, Major Elementary; Krissy Wallace, McNabb Elementary; Carolyn Gifford, Meyer Elementary; Ann Dishong, Northgate Crossing Elementary; Karol Cargill, Ponderosa Elementary; Whitney Holland, Reynolds Elementary; Carol Berryhill, Salyers Elementary; Connie Reed, Smith Elementary; Beth Quimby, Thompson Elementary; Kristi Cobb, Winship Elementary; Nicole Smothers, Bailey Middle; Cynthia Orosco, Bammel Middle; Tera George, Claughton Middle; Mary Carvell, Dueitt Middle; Susan Gregurek, Roberson Middle; Kathy Vestal, Twin Creeks Middle; Nathaniel Welch, Wells Middle; Joshua Brinkman, Dekaney High; Sammy Green, Spring High; Katie Petty, Virtual School; Yoshika Berroud, Westfield High; and Lorie Jones, Wunsche High.

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Visit our YouTube channel Network with us on LinkedIn Subscribe to our RSS Feed elevate.

Spring Independent School District | 16717 Ella Blvd. | Houston, TX 77090 | 281-891-6000 | www.springisd.org
facebook.com/SpringISD | twitter.com/SpringISD | youtube.com/SpringISDweb | linkedin.com/company/spring-isd