• History of the Andy Dekaney NJROTC Program

    The NJROTC program was established by Public Law in 1964, which may be found in Title 10, U.S. Code, Chapter 102. The program is conducted at accredited secondary schools throughout the nation, and taught by instructors who are retired Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard officers and enlisted personnel. The NJROTC accredited curriculum emphasizes citizenship and leadership development, as well as our maritime heritage, the significance of sea power, and naval topics such as the fundamentals of naval operations, seamanship, navigation and meteorology. Classroom instruction is augmented throughout the year by extra-curricular activities of community service, academic, athletic, drill and orienteering competitions, field meets, visits to naval or other activities, marksmanship sports training, and physical fitness training. 



    LT Scott Thrasher, USN (Ret) email: sthras1@springisd.org

    OSC Victor Adams, USN (Ret) email: vadams@springisd.org

    YNC Robert Dunn, USN (Ret) email: rdunn@springisd.org


    Telephone: 281-891-7373


    2019-2020 CADET STAFF


    Cadet Commanding Officer Cadet/Commander Erik Lopez

    Cadet Executive Officer Cadet/Lieutenant Commander Brandon Rice

    Cadet Command Master Chief Cadet/Master Chief Kurth Koulavongsa

    Cadet Operations Officer Cadet/Lieutenant Carlenis Jurado

    Cadet Administrative  Officer Cadet/PO1 Itxel Bordallo

    Cadet Supply Officer Cadet/PO2 Dejana’e Bunch

    Cadet Ordnance Officer Cadet/Ensign Brandon Edwards


    Upcoming 2020 Events:

    January 18th – Dekaney Five Star Drill/Athletic/Academic Meet

    February 1st -  Tomball Drill Meet

    April 4th – Magnolia Deep Sea Swim/Athletic/Engineering Competition


    History of Cadet Commanding Officers
    2009-2010: Micheal Templeton (Graduated) 
    2010-2011: Karen Rios (Graduated)
    2011-2012: Diana Humana (Graduated)
    2012-2013: Glen Castillo (Graduated)
    2013-2014: Ashley Tijerina (Graduated)
    2014-2015: Kimberly Argueta (Graduated)
    2015-2016: Armando Lopez (Graduated)
    2016-2017: Jesse Hernandez (Graduated)
    2017-2018: Arionna Knox