Return to Headlines

Spring ISD Announces Bell Schedule for 2019-20 School Year

HOUSTON – Feb. 25, 2019 – The Spring Independent School District announced school hours for the 2019-20 school year, including slight changes to the current schedule for 12 elementary schools. The schedules for the other 14 elementary schools, high schools and middle schools will remain the same, with a few exceptions.

“We are focusing our attention on making full use of our bus transportation routes to minimize the additional resources needed with the opening of two new middle schools,” said Operations Chief Mark Miranda. “Although we may need to add up to 24 routes to support the additional programs, revising the elementary schedule will help reduce the number of additional routes needed.”

The district will maintain a three-tiered route structure, with high schools starting first, followed by elementary schools, and ending with middle schools rounding out the school day.

Transportation Director Keith Kaup said the elementary schedule will also follow a three-tiered route structure, and at the most, families will see only a 20-minute shift from this year’s schedule.

Tier-one hours for elementary schools – Anderson, Beneke, Booker, Lewis, Smith and Thompson – will be from 7:35 a.m. to 2:55 p.m. with drop-off time at 7:10 a.m. Kaup said this will allow bus transportation to pick up and deliver to those schools and then turn around and transport students attending tier-three elementary schools – Cooper, Heritage, Hirsch, Jenkins, Link and Reynolds – where the hours will be from 8:10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. with drop-off time at 7:45 a.m.

The schedule will remain the same for 14 tier-two elementary schools: Bammel, Burchett, Clark Primary, Clark Intermediate, Eickenroht, Hoyland, Major, Marshall, McNabb, Meyer, Northgate Crossing, Ponderosa, Salyers and Winship will be in session from 7:55 a.m. to 3:15 p.m., which is the current elementary schedule. Drop-off time for those schools is 7:30 a.m.

The schedule for all high schools will remain from 7:10 a.m. to 2:30 p.m., including Spring Early College Academy, which currently follows a different schedule. In addition, Spring Leadership Academy, a new middle school opening in August, will also follow the high school schedule. Drop-off time at the high school is 6:30 a.m.

The middle school schedule for Bailey, Bammel, Claughton, Dueitt, Twin Creeks and Wells will remain the same – 8:55 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. – and also will include Roberson Middle School and the new Springwoods Village Middle School next year. Drop-off time is 8:25 a.m.

Students enrolled at Spring Leadership Academy and Spring Early College Academy, which are both schools of choice that serve students from across the district, will be picked up and dropped off by district transportation at designated neighborhood bus stops. Additionally, Spring Leadership Academy students who participate in athletics will be transported by bus to their zoned campus after school.

See bell schedule